Updated: 2016-11-25 15:26 EST

Ian! and Karen – photo by Moti Zemelman

Contact Improvisation Dance

Canadian Flag Ottawa/Gatineau/Hull


Ian! and Karen – photo by Moti

Ottawa/Gatineau/Hull Events Summary

What is Contact Improvisation Dance?

Contact improvisation is a dance form that explores the physics of two (or more) bodies in motion. With an emphasis on gravity, flow, and spontaneity, you get to stand, breathe, fly, jump, roll, and tumble with other bodies.

In 2016 we have these recurring events in Ottawa/Gatineau (scroll down or follow the links for details):

Ian! and Eva – photo by John Barrett

Details are below.

2016 – Ottawa Saturday Contact Improv Dance Jams and Classes

What is Contact Improvisation Dance?

Contact Improv Dance Jams with live music!
Some of our dates below are special dance jams with live music. There is a guided warm-up but no class instruction on these weeks. Multi-instrumentalist Kim Gravelle is our resident live musician for these contact improv dance jam events.

Kim Gravelle is a Canadian musician who is the creator of her own instrument, the Sympathy. This is a bass flute with sympathetic strings which create a natural subtle echo effect. The strings can also be played directly. The result is a highly unique instrument. There is no other like it in the world. See Dappled Sunlight Music).

Cost: Admission for the jams with music is "pay what you can", suggested $10/hour, which means $20 covers our room and musician costs for a two-hour jam but you can pay a bit less if you need to, and nobody is turned away for lack of funds.

***  O T T A W A   C O N T A C T   I M P R O V   D A N C E   D A T E S   F A L L   2 0 1 6 ***

Dance jams are at Arts Court every Saturday.
Most start times are 11:15, with some longer events starting at 10am (TBA).
Some dance jams have live music; we have a warm up but no class that day.
Some events will include a gentle blindfold jam - eyes closed!
All Saturday events below end at 1:15pm.

11:15am Sat November  26 2016
11:15am Sat December   3 2016
11:15am Sat December  10 2016
11:15am Sat December  17 2016 - with live music by Kim Gravelle
* holiday break until January *
11:15am Sat January    7 2017
11:15am Sat January   14 2017
11:15am Sat January   21 2017
* no jam on January 28 *
11:15am Sat February   4 2017
11:15am Sat February  11 2017
11:15am Sat February  18 2017
11:15am Sat February  25 2017
* no jam on March 4 *
11:15am Sat March     11 2017
11:15am Sat March     18 2017
11:15am Sat March     25 2017
11:15am Sat April      1 2017
11:15am Sat April      8 2017
11:15am Sat April     15 2017
11:15am Sat April     22 2017
11:15am Sat May        6 2017
11:15am Sat May       13 2017
11:15am Sat May       20 2017
* no jam on May 27 *
11:15am Sat June       3 2017
11:15am Sat June      10 2017
11:15am Sat June      17 2017
11:15am Sat June      24 2017
* summer break until September *

Beginners welcome!

Ottawa Contact Improvisation dance events take place almost every Saturday in air-conditioned comfort, usually Saturdays 11h15-13h15 at Arts Court second-floor ODD Studio "B" at 2 Daly Avenue, Ottawa. See the table above for the exact dates and times.

Contact Dancers Image - Ian, Kirsten, and Betsy

Skill level: All skill levels welcome, especially new and old beginners!

Weekly Class/Jam Fee: free or by donation the first time for newcomers; $8-$10 per jam or by donation for pay-as-you-dance drop-in; "nobody turned away for lack of funds" – talk to us
Jam With Live Music Fee: suggested $10/hour to pay for the room and the musician; you can pay less if you really need to. Nobody turned away!

Time: 10h00 or 11h15 to 13h15 most Saturdays (check dates and times above)
A facilitated warm and introduction to contact improv dance up usually starts the jam.
Location: Arts Court, Ottawa Dance Directive Studio "B", Second Floor, - 2 Daly Avenue, Ottawa

Our jam is run by volunteers and is a non-profit event. You can get involved. If you would like to lead a warm up, please contact us with the dates that you have in mind. If you would like to be a participant in the organization of the jam, contact us for details about the Ottawa Contact Improv consensus group. For more information, drop in to any jam or send us email: Ian! Allen idallen@idallen.ca

Ottawa Dance Directive logo

2016 – Ottawa/Gatineau Creative Dance Events

Ian! and Karen – photo by Moti

For many other Ottawa Creative Dance/Movement/Somatic events, see the Ottawa/Gatineau Creative Dance and Movement Facebook Group.

Carpools to Big Heart Dance Camp, Earthdance, and DNE Dance Camp

Contact Ian! Allen idallen@idallen.ca about car pooling from Ottawa to dance events such as